The Boys of Summer


To mark the advent of summer, my blog today honors the inspirational men in my life. Yes, we are about to embark on a tour of the men who prance around in my head. I love my hub to distraction, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like a nice piece of man candy.

Oh, Antonio, as El Mariachi...

Here is the man who made me enamored of men in leather pants. Oh, and what leather pants they were. The long hair bound at the base of his neck, the golden skin, that profile, those sideburns… Yes, this was the original Alek, as I saw him in my head. I realized later he’s not Alek, not really. But I still love him in leather pants. Whew! Is it hot in here, or is it just him?

Oh, Gerard, you beautiful, scruffy man. Just as I like Antonio only when he’s got the long hair and wearing leather pants, I like Gerard a little rumpled. Browsing through photos of this tasty pastry, I found several of him in a tuxedo. Eh. But a tight T-shirt and jeans. Oh, honey. Though I did enjoy him shirtless in 300, even if I wasn’t enamored with the movie. Mm.

 

For the one person who actually read my first craptastic novel… This is Michael (only healthier looking). For those of you who read The Marker, this is Claire’s husband. Dark hair, dimples, and if you saw P.S. I love you, the accent. Oh yeah.

Michael Fassbender. First discovered him when he played Azazeal on BBC’s Hexed, and soon he’ll be playing Magneto in the new X-Men movie. But he is, hands down, the best Mr. Rochester EVER (and I’ve seen so many versions of Jane Eyre it’s embarrassing). This man made Jane Eyre sizzle with Victorian sexual repression. Oh, but being repressed never looked so good.

That’s it for now. But watch through out June for more man candy. Because what’s the fun in summer if we don’t have nice things to look at?

Leave a Reply

