This is Why We Fight


Yesterday, when I was in my favorite hippie supermarket (Whole Paycheck), Chewey was behaving like the product of an unholy union between Po (Kung Fu Panda) and Darth Vader, complete with sound effects. He wasn’t being bad, just loud, doing “kung fu” moves throughout the store, and occasionally bursting out with phrases like, “I will destroy you with my kung fu and my light saber!” He was particularly fond of doing this in front of the reflective glass by the fish, so he could watch his own “rad moves.” (He also liked doing them in front of my parent’s stainless steel refrigerator, which prompted weird looks from my father and my mother to declare, “Well, isn’t he… imaginative.”)

Trust me, I was aware of the stares. So. Very. Aware.

Then, randomly, while we were in the egg section, he and his sister broke out singing “This is Why We Fight” by The Decemberists, whom I started listening to because of this person. I was oddly proud, in a total geek kind of way. Their choice of songs seemed appropriate, coming from the two of them.

It only lasted for the small amount of time we were in the egg section, but it made me smile for the rest of the day.

2 thoughts on “This is Why We Fight”

  1. I love the song… And we’d been listening to The Decemberists in the car, but I thought it was totally funny that my four and six year olds were so good with the lyrics, seeing as how I only got the CD a month ago. Totally had the chorus down, and were in unison as they sang. And yes, it was so appropriate for siblings.

    After all, “This is why we fight. Why we lie awake” is so appropriate, if taken completely out of context and literally (and really funny to hear them sing). Because damn, I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve wished they’d just go to sleep after bickering all day. (Though, being honest, my kids don’t bicker the way my brother and I used to. My kids get along shockingly well, actually. God love them.)

Leave a Reply

