Dollywood and/or Bust!


I am fascinated by Dollywood. Or at least the idea of it.

Can I explain this? No.

I am not a fan of Dolly Parton’s music overall. She’s got some great songs, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t typically listen to country music. But as a personality? Oh, hells yeah. Big fan.

I know it’s weird. This fascination with Dolly Parton began in… I want to say 2002 or 2003, when I was watching So Graham Norton on BBC America and she was his guest. It was, quite possibly, the funniest interview I’ve ever seen. And when she presented him with “the tit pillow,” (her words) a pink, bejeweled concoction with a giant nipple in the middle? Oh, honey, priceless.

That was the day I discovered you can say anything, just so long as you say it in a genteel Southern accent.

So yes, I want to go to Dollywood, in Pigeon Forge, TN.

Maybe get a “tit pillow” of my own.

3 thoughts on “Dollywood and/or Bust!”

  1. I have not been to Dollywood, but I have been to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. And OMG, it is a whole other world. Hugely entertaining (and quite lovely country!) but yeah.

    I actually wish I’d done Dollywood now – I think it’s been 12 years since we were there. I’ve grown to like some of her music (her version of Cash on the Barrelhead is awesome)! I love how honest she is.

    1. Gatlinburg is cool, isn’t it? Granted, I haven’t been to TN since I was seven, so it’s been… awhile. But I do miss the region of my birth, that’s for certain. I loved it when my brother moved to NC for awhile and we got to visit him there (and husband got to experience my long-lost accent first hand).

      I think what I responded to most in that entire interview was her honesty. How she accepts herself for who she is–bawdy and funny and busty and all. I wish I could do that (Two out of three isn’t bad, I suppose. I’m bawdy and funny, anyway. Or, rather, i think I am.)

  2. Incidentally, I am practicing my own genteel southern accent, so I can tell people to piss off and have them say, “Oh my stars, but she’s so NICE.”

Leave a Reply

