I Got a Clencher!


I got my cover for my book today.

It’s a really nice cover. I’m excited and freaked out and thrilled beyond belief. I still can’t believe this happened to me.

You’d think, being a writer, that I would have something to say about this, but I don’t. There are no words to describe the feeling that comes from seeing the cover of your first book for the first time.

I thought, when this moment came, I’d be giddy, and I am. But I think, more than that, I saw this cover and my brain… stuttered.

For a moment–okay, for a period of time somewhat longer than a moment–in the space between my ears, there was only the sound of crickets. It sounds like I’m kidding, but sadly, I’m not. Crickets.

And after that, all those little crickets started singing in their little cricket voices… Oh. My God. It’s actually real.

I knew it was real before–after all, I signed a contract. But it all felt very academic. I made jokes about getting published, but I’m not sure I believed it until I saw the cover with my name on it.

I worked really hard to get here. I have stayed up to all hours of the night working on my  various manuscripts, and gotten up the next morning and gone to work, coached soccer, taken the kids to swimming and done all those things I have to do as a responsible adult. And then, in the wee hours of the morning, I wrote and I wrote and I wrote some more, even though there was no tangible reward at the end of that journey, just the prospect of querying and writing, entering contests (sometimes finaling, sometimes not), getting rejections and feeling like a failure and a hack.

I queried two places with this book, and neither of them were the original publisher I’d hoped to land when I started it (mostly because, by the time I finished it, the book no longer fit the guidelines specified by the original publisher). I only queried this particular publisher not that long ago.

So it all felt unreal when I got “The Call.”

It felt unreal when I got the contract.

And now… uh… it’s real.

Welcome The Marker, my debut novel, coming out in December of 2011 from Soul Mate Publishing.

This cover does a really nice job of encapsulating my entire story, from the couple at the top to the saloon at the bottom. I think that’s what good covers do.

What are some of your favorite book covers, and what do you think a cover should portray?

–Meggan

One thought on “I Got a Clencher!”

Leave a Reply

