Friday Night Book Reviews, Saturday Edition: The What If Guy


Yes, yes, I’m a day late and a dollar short.

I’ve had a wicked stomach bug for almost a week, and I’ve been coming home from work and going to bed. I’ve barely eaten anything for a week, and I’ve been living on Zofran.

Yes, I am indulging in better living through pharmacology. And it’s the only way I’ve been able to function.

But enough of my excuses.

Our book of the day is Brooke Moss’s The What If Guy, offered through Entangled Publishing, which I read some time ago, and some of you may have seen my review on Goodreads. I would have posted a pic of the cover, but, well… it’s not in the cards.

Here’s the back cover blurb:

What would you do if your “what if” guy showed up at the lowest point of your life? 

(Autumn Cole clocked hers with an encyclopedia.) 

After losing her job at a swanky Seattle art gallery and finding out her father has been hospitalized, single mother Autumn Cole reluctantly returns to her tiny hometown of Fairfield, Washington, to put the pieces of her life back together. 

Her disgruntled twelve-year old son isn’t thrilled about going from hip to hick, but Autumn’s got it worse. She resumes her role as the daughter of the town drunk, promptly facing a crisis with her father that’s been decades in the making. 

Running into Henry Tobler, and nearly breaking his nose, is almost more than she can handle, but can rediscovering love-and herself-with her “what if” guy teach Autumn to forgive before it’s too late

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were real. They were funny. They were people you might actually meet on the street. And like.

Ms. Moss has crafted a character driven book. So if you’re looking for a book heavy on the plot, this isn’t it. This book is about people, and they have the spark of real life about them. My one issue–and it really isn’t one–is that Henry does seem too perfect, and, well, real men have flaws. But when I think about the first blush of romance, those first few months (or years) when you’re falling in love, your man’s flaws seem endearing. Snoring–oh, cute. Morning breath–who even notices? So when I thought, “Wow, Henry seems perfect,” it’s because, in Autumn’s eyes, he is. Henry’s lack of flaws in this regard was something I was willing to overlook in exchange for a great story with great characters.

A good read for a day curled up on the couch with a cup of hot cocoa. So put it on the Christmas list and download it to your new Kindle or Nook or iPad or Kobo.

And don’t forget to pick up a copy of my book, The Marker, while you’re at it. The Marker comes out in FOUR DAYS!

–Meggan

Leave a Reply

