Random Sunday Musings


So, it’s late on Sunday evening–it’s actually Monday for you folks back East–and I’m doing some reflecting.

As some of you may know, my muse has gone…missing.

Huh. Maybe I’m not supposed to mention that I’ve struggled with a manuscript, or couldn’t find inspiration. Maybe I’m supposed to make it look like it’s easy all the time, like the words just flow from my fingertips, inspired by the daughters of Zeus.

Mmhm. And monkeys will fly out of my butt.

I’m not sure anything is gained by authors lying to one another, or to the world. No, writing is not like brain surgery, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy. Trust me, I did medical transcription in college (and I read medical reports all the time), and while I would totally trust them to cut open my head, some of them can’t write for shit. When you read those reports, it’s very stream of consciousness–few commas (I always added them, because I happen to know there is a world of difference between eats shoots and leaves and eats, shoots and leaves), and often no periods. There are times when I think that a well-placed period or comma might actually make a world of difference.

So while I would never presume that a brain surgeon’s job is easy, not everyone can do mine, either.

I won’t lie to you–sometimes the words come easy. Other times, the words are hard. The story needs to be forced out, like birthing a baby (granted, how would I know? I had C-sections). It doesn’t matter how the story came into the world.

Just like with having kids, what matters is what you do with it once it’s out.

8 thoughts on “Random Sunday Musings”

  1. I’m sorry you’re struggling with the muse. Don’t beat yourself up over it, though — you have so much going on in real life right now. Maybe taking the pressure off of yourself, like giving yourself permission to not write for a week or two, will give your head room to figure out what you want to write or why it’s not working.

    I read this article today and — once I got past the title — thought it had some great points writers could use, too (especially the bit about procrastination). http://techcrunch.com/2012/08/19/the-7-habits-of-highly-effective-mediocre-entrepreneurs/

    FWIW and all that. Hugs from PDX.

  2. Thanks AAL!

    I’ve decided to take it slow. I’ve worked out the problem with the steampunk, so that’s good. Or, at least I’ve worked it out well enough that I think I can write it. Now that I’ve “de-complicated” my plot, I think things will go better.

    As for the YA, I think the story concept is great. It’s getting over the hump of story set up and into the action that’s killing me. Meh.

  3. I found my muse nestled amongst the grit ‘n’goo under my big toenail. She was rooted there for the duration of Book 1! Check there. Tell her you refuse to paint her pretty, coax her with foot cream, pedis and massages. And when that doesn’t work (talking from experience, here) cut her shelter to the quick…give her no choice but to show up for work! And if that doesn’t work, breathe, take an “it’s all about me” day, shake the cobwebs, relax and let your fingers do the walking…

    1. It’s funny you mention toes, because for two days, I’ve been thinking of the mojito pedicure I read about–lime green with polka dots (complete with cocktails). I bet my toes would look right fetching!

      And maybe I’ll discover my muse under there, too (and if not, I have cute toes!)

  4. Great post. Your muse isn’t missing, she’s playing with you. She’s trying to see how far she can push you before you grab her by the hair and sit her down to do her job. Don’t give her the satisfaction of knowing she got to you. Relax and have your mojito pedicure. In no time at all she’ll come crawling to you for forgiveness. And if you don’t want to wait for her, start without her. Fear of replacement works every time.

  5. Hang in there Meggan. You know I don’t have a Muse (instead have a Doubt Monster), but I do go through periods of laziness.I know what I have to do, but I just can’t make myself do it. I hate when that happens!

  6. Ah, losing the muse is always so troubling. I’m on my last two chapters of my first draft of my WIP and I thought I would power through them because I’d been waiting to write them for so long, but noo. Poof. Bye-bye muse.

    I hope yours returns to you soon!

    And while writing is certainly not brain surgery, I do tire of people saying that it’s not ‘real’ work haha, as I’m sure you do.

    Cheers!

    1. Thank you, Avery!

      Writing is real work. Sure, there aren’t set hours, but I put in long hours. Really long hours.

      I hope the muse comes back too. I think she has. But it’s like that car engine that turns over just enough to give you hope but fails to start. She’s revving up now. Maybe in a month, we’ll really get started!

      Hope yours comes back too–just in time to finish your WIP!

Leave a Reply

