Huh, It Works on Other People, Too!


My mother was right. Guilt does work.

After begging for weeks for someone to help me, I actually do have an assistant coach. Kind of. I have a referee. Kind of.  Five of the six parents paid me for the banner. The parent who forgot snacks on snack day felt so bad, she brought the most awesome goody bags I have ever seen, complete with all kinds of little things the girls loved. Change purses, fluorescent bracelets, candy, crackers, juice boxes, all in a little cloth sack in pink or purple.

I’m not sure if it was my final, pathetic email, when I reminded them of the game on Saturday and asked them to help me take down the goals (two different families from my team actually did help me take down the goals. The other team, not so much. It’s all right. I didn’t have to do it all by myself), and then said I still needed an assistant coach, a ref and a team parent (every job but coach). I don’t know if it was the constant gentle reminders at practice that I could use some help.

At this point, I don’t care.

I have help!

4 thoughts on “Huh, It Works on Other People, Too!”

  1. I’m guessing you were clever and couched it in terms of how their little monsters would have a better experience if parents helped out? If not, please post the entire text of the email here so we can crib from it!

Leave a Reply

