Booty-licious: A Pirate’s Ransom


 

Good morning, peeps! (It’s always a good morning if it’s Monday and you don’t have to go to work, right?

Help me welcome Gerri Brousseau, author of A Pirate’s Ransom.

Gerri: Thank you, Meggan, for hosting me here today. I thought for a little bit of fun today, I would invite Captain Drake to help me answer these questions. So … he and I shall be taking a stab at them.

He’s not going to stab me while taking a stab at my questions, is he? After all, he’s a pirate. (Gerri shakes her head; Captain Drake grins. I decide to plow on ahead anyway)

So, uh, Captain Drake, Gerri, can you tell us a little about yourself?

Captain Drake: I’m a pirate. What more is there to say?

Gerri: Really, Captain … sometimes, you can be so crass. I shall answer this question.

Captain Drake: My deepest apologies, Lady Gerri. By all means, please do continue.

Gerri: I live in CT with my two pugs … they are such good company and have great personalities. Besides writing, my other passion is cooking. I guess I just love to create things, no matter if they are on paper, or a plate.

Do you have a day job?

Captain Drake: I sail the seven seas looking for the prize I seek.

Gerri: Unfortunately, no. I got laid off with the downturn of the economy.  I am looking though.

Of course you do, Captain. I would expect nothing less. So tell me, Gerri, how do you balance writing with all of your other obligations? (I ask, because I have yet to find it!)

Gerri: I don’t. I give myself permission to be temporarily out of balance. I learned a long time ago that dust keeps. No one else will do the dishes or vacuum so when I have a moment, I do. If I were working, I would have to deal with it. I find that women are good at juggling.

That’s a perfect response, mostly because I haven’t vacuumed in the last few days, and I only dusted because, well, I have a hole in my bathroom floor from a dreaded toilet leak. That floor would be clean if it existed, right?

Just because I’m curious: What’s your favorite book of all time, and why? (Because I’m a lit geek, I’ll let you get away with listing more than one)

Captain Drake: I find I’m quite fond of the tales of Odysseus.

Gerri:  I really can’t answer this. I have many that I have read more than once, so I would be hard pressed to pick, but I do have to say I love Mister Darcy.

Oo, oo, I love Mister Darcy, too. Especially as played by Colin Firth. I think I was seven or eight when that version came out, but lawd, I love it! Speaking of actors, who is your favorite movie/TV character and why?

Captain Drake: What is TV?

Gerri: Captain, I will handle this one as well. I have many favorite movies. Let’s see … I adore Harry Potter because those books/movies inspire me. No matter how many times I have seen them, whenever they are on I MUST watch them. I love Pirates of the Caribbean, of course. I have seen Gone With the Wind many times, as well as The Sound of Music. I love The Wizard of Oz and Top Gun too. Favorite TV character is Damon Salvatore, played by the devilishly handsome, very hot and sexy Ian Somerhalder. Man, if I were just 20 years younger.

 I  to agree with you on that front: Ian Somerhalder is very nice to look at. 🙂 

What are your interests outside of writing?

Gerri: I have a new granddaughter and I love spending time with her. As I mentioned above, I love to cook and create new recipes. I enjoy going to the movies, trying a new restaurant, I like to sketch and paint, I enjoy walking with friends or with the pugs. I like to go to the beach, although I hate sand … weird huh? I love to dance.

Congrats on the new grandbaby! That’s so exciting. 

Let’s talk a little about your writing. Answer as many or as few as you want…

Is there a particular author who may have influenced you?

Gerri: Yes there are two actually, Stephanie Meyer and J.K. Rowling. Let me tell you a little bit about how I started writing. Way back in 2007 I took a job that required me to travel 4 hours per day on a train. I know, crazy, but desperate times … anyway … during those hours I started to read – A LOT. Well, one fine day I picked up a little book entitled, “Twilight” and couldn’t put it down. In a matter of one week, I had breezed through all four of them. Then I read an interview with the author who said she dreamed Twilight. I thought … if I only could have a dream, maybe I could write a book. Well, I pushed that notion aside and went on with my life. Then one weekend it just so happened that Harry Potter was on. The particular movie was the Goblet of Fire. In this movie, Harry has to battle a dragon. The old professor looks at Harry and says, “What are your strengths? What are you good at?” And at that moment, it seemed as if the old professor was asking me. Harry answers, “Well, I’m a pretty fair flyer.” and I answer “I’m pretty fair writer” and the old professor answers, “Better than fair, the way I heard it.”  And it was at that moment that I decided to seriously become an author.  It is my fondest wish to one day meet J.K. Rowling.

That’s a great story! Tell us a little bit about what inspired this book.

Gerri: I always had dreamed about being swept away by a handsome pirate, but my pirate had to be so much more. He wasn’t rough and mean. He was a gentleman. The more I thought about him, the more he manifested himself in my mind. Of course, I couldn’t picture him alone, so I imagined what his lady would look like. Pretty soon, Captain Drake and Lady Catherine were screaming at me to tell their story … I tried my hand at writing a pirate tale and I hope your readers love it as much as I loved writing it.

I’m sure they will!

What is your favorite sentence or quote in your new release?

Gerri: My favorite is spoken by Captain Drake to Lady Catherine: “Every Lady needs a scoundrel in her life.”

Captain Drake: I said that and I do believe that to be true. I confess, I strive daily to see that I fulfill this need.

I confess, I’m pretty enamored with the scoundrel(s) in my life.

So, Gerri, In their hearts of hearts, what would your characters say about themselves?

Captain Drake: I am a gentleman. Although I am known to be a pirate, I am honest and strive to do the right thing. I see myself as being loyal and protective.

Gerri: Lady Catherine is a well-mannered lady. She would never dream of bringing dishonor to her father. She is innocent, but a quick study (blush). She is strong-willed and can be feisty.

Miss Mary Chadwick – Lady Catherine’s maid has been with Catherine since her birth. She is loyal and protective.

Tobias Smith – Captain Drake’s Quartermaster – he’s a little rough around the edges, but he is fiercely loyal and level-headed. 

Sounds like a good crew, and every pirate captain needs one of those! Tell me, Gerri–or perhaps you could answer, Captain Drake, who would play the lead characters in your story?

Gerri: Since Hollywood wouldn’t give the author the chance to cast her characters, I really haven’t given it too much thought. Captain Drake is devilishly handsome. Dark hair, green eyes … hmmm have to give that some thought. Lady Catherine has dark hair and crystal blue eyes … I guess I will challenge the readers to make some suggestions. I have had one already for Mary Chadwick. Let’s see what the readers say in their comments.

Do you have any advice for an aspiring writer?

Gerri: Yes. Believe in yourself and your story and NEVER give up.  Don’t listen to the nay sayers. Keep writing. There will be no’s … there will be rejections, but do not give up.

Where can your readers stalk you?

Gerri:  My website at www.gerribrousseau.com where I urge them to enter my Claim the Ransom contest for their chance to sail away with the treasure.

I’m also on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/#!/gerri.brousseau.5 and I also have a Fan page on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/edit/?id=265905043526325&sk=permissions&success=1#!/gerribrousseaubooks  I invite them to stop by “Like” my page, say Hi or ask a question.  I also have a page at Soul Mate Publishing authors http://smpauthors.wordpress.com/

Tell us about your new release:

Gerri:  I would be happy to. Here is a little blurb about the book:

Despair filled Lady Catherine as she boarded the ship for England, and toward marriage to man she’s never met—the Duke of Devonshire.  But the sea is no place for a lady.  She’s captured by the Pirate Captain, Edmund Drake and held for ransom; a ransom that has nothing to do with coin.  But when she’s stolen from him, he realizes she has captured his heart. She becomes the pawn in a dangerous rivalry between two pirates—the handsome pirate Captain Edmund Drake and his notorious and fearsome opponent, Blackbeard.  How far will Captain Drake go to reclaim his prize?  Which pirate will decide her fate?  And who will pay … A Pirate’s Ransom?

But … there is so much more to the story. What about the Duke? How and when does he fit into this story and who the heck is The Contessa Theodora de Lorenzo? Hmm, guess you’ll just have to read the book to find out.

Do you have an excerpt?

Gerri: Yes, I sure do.

Well then, without further ado, A Pirate’s Ransom!

My hand rested on the smooth wood of the rail while I watched the moonlight dance upon the waves, the sound of the wind in the sails was almost liberating. I don’t know how long he stood behind me in silence but when I sensed his presence, my backbone stiffened. What was it about this man that riled me so?

He took a few steps closer. “Catherine,” he said in a voice just above a whisper. The deepness of his murmur caused my mind to wander. Why was I picturing him using this tone with a lover? My back stiffened further and I chided myself for allowing my thoughts to wander in that direction. Refusing to face him, I kept my gaze upon the water.

“It would give me great pleasure if you would do me the honor of dining with me this evening.” He seemed to purr.

He inched closer and the heat of his body radiated into my rigid back. Placing one hand upon my shoulder and his lips close to my ear he whispered, “Please.”

The heat of his whisper caressed my ear and the tension seemed to melt away from me. I closed my eyes and tried to swallow the lump in my throat.

“You look truly beautiful this evening, Milady.” His hoarse whisper scorched my neck and goose bumps ran up my arms. He stood so close that when I relaxed, my back nestled against his chest. His body was hard and warm and the intoxicating smell of him made me dizzy. Heat spread through me in a sensation I had never experienced before as his soft lips gently brushed my neck, but my heart nearly stopped when he whispered, “but not nearly as lovely as you looked this afternoon in the mirror.

Gerri: Oh, by the way … if your readers are interested in purchasing the book, here are my links:

Available at: http://www.soulmatepublishing.com

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/kindle/dp/B0091PRUTO/ref=rdr_kindle_ext_eos_detail

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-pirtes-ransom-gerri-brousseau/1112651492?ean=2940015206692

Thanks so much for hosting me. 

You are very welcome! Thanks for stopping by to chat!

 

5 thoughts on “Booty-licious: A Pirate’s Ransom”

  1. Hi Meggan,
    Thanks again for hosting us here today. Captain Drake is most anxious to answer questions from your readers. (Don’t tell him I said this, but I think all this attention has gone directly to his head … as if it wasn’t big enough already!) If we are lucky, we might even get Lady Catherine to answer a few as well. So, if any of your readers wish to pose a question to either of them, or to me, please feel free to do so. Thanks again … and let the fun begin.

  2. Great interview, ladies. I loved that you included Captain Drake, especially since he’s a scoundrel. I have a weak spot for scoundrels.
    A Pirate’s Ransom is on my TBR list and hopefully I’ll be able to read it soon.
    Gerri, good luck with your book.

  3. I write historical romance, so not too much in those books could happen to me. Although I have fantasized about being swept away by a handsome pirate, that has not happened to me … no. Still, I understand what you’re saying. How could you describe something you have not experienced? I have a very, VERY active imagination and I do a ton of research for the historical aspects of my work. As for the love scenes … To some extent things are from personal experience … but no, not every love scene has occurred in my personal life. When people ask me if these things have happened to me I simply tell them I have a great imagination. I do get snickering comments from men telling me if I ever need help doing research for any love scenes to let them know. Those comments I simply ignore.

Leave a Reply

