What I’m Up To


Listening to: Lincoln Park. A mix of Hybrid Theory, Living Things and A Thousand Suns.

Reading: The Tower, a history of the Tower of London. Weirdly, nonfiction. Stranger still, I’m loving it.

Watching: The Science Channel, something on Mendeleev. Been watching a lot of The Science Channel lately. Not all of it is Ancient Aliens, either. (Incidentally, I love Ancient Aliens. It makes me want to throw tomatoes at my TV.)

Thinking About: More often than not, getting the Ph.D. I’m really quite obsessed with the idea.

Worrying About: The money for the Ph.D. I think I can make it work if I work half time and get some sort of stipend. It’s not great, but it might be good enough. I want a Ph.D., and I think I’ve got a good idea for a study. It’s figuring out how to pay my bills that’s the trick. Isn’t it always?

Writing: Right now, nothing more than the blog, and that only rarely. But I have something brewing. I can feel it. I’m reading a steampunk that I started last year. I re-read the beginning, and it’s quite good–it struck me as a cross between The Left Hand of Darkness and Pale Rider. If it’s half as good as either of those, I’ve got a bestseller, baby. And then I won’t have to worry about the money I’ll need for the Ph.D.

Talking About: Honestly, I’ve been answering kid questions all day. “What’s a yuppie?” “What does bourgeoise mean?” “Mom, can you explain the periodic table?” “Why does that character do that?” “What can you tell me about General McClellan?” “Mom, do you think monsters live under my bed?” (That was just from one kid. The younger one spent most of the day cracking himself up)

Oh, and with M? I’ve been talking about the Ph.D. I’m so boring.

Aside: Can I explain the periodic table? Uh… yeah, but my answer is probably confusing, and no I can’t explain that away. General McClellan? Well, I know who he was, and that’s about it. She just read the biography, so I’m sure she knows more about him than I do. Again, I read mostly fiction. The Tower is a departure for me.

Dude, it’s rough being shown up by a second grader. Especially when you think you’re not entirely stupid yourself.

Epiphanies: I have imposter syndrome. More on that later.

Plans: Tomorrow, I have an appointment to get myself made all purdy. I’m excited about that. Today, I put in a call to the university about starting a Ph.D. program, and I did get a call back. Of course, it was as I was sitting in the dentist’s chair, so I couldn’t answer. But I did email back the professor, and hopefully, I’ll have an appointment to talk to them soon. 

Also, I need to work on edits for Jessie’s War, which is due out in January. Like my plug there?

That’s about it on this front. I’m feeling better than I have been, but it still sucks. I’m scared to go just about anywhere. But I did. Today, I took the kids to the park, to lunch, and then went to the dentist.

What about you? What are you up to?

 

 

10 thoughts on “What I’m Up To”

      1. Plunder a few ships, loot a few towns – do it the pirate way. Oh. Wait. That won’t work will it? I’m sure you will find a way that won’t get you 10-20 years in the clink 🙂

      2. Maybe if I do it all quiet-like? No need to go berserker.

        How about this? We try to make the next book hit the best seller list, and then THAT will pay for the PhD. So, everyone: buy the next book!!!

  1. How cool to have real estate named after you (Meggan-land). And with a family that’s really an accomplishment, since moms usually blend in the background.

    Glad to hear that you’re up and around and doing better.

    Go for the ph.D – things will work out. Check into grants. There usually are a few lying around. I’m sure there is one with your name on it. Besides if you get your ph.D then you can send email from Dr. Meggan-land. Or you can always change the name to Dr. Saucy Wench-land. It does have a catchy ring to it.

  2. What a coincidence. I’ve been talking to my lovely wife about her going back to school to get her Ph.D. Perhaps the two of you should get together and talk about it. I think it’s a wonderful idea.

Leave a Reply

