Happy Halloween!


Tomorrow is one of my favorite days of the year.

Now, I love Halloween, but not for the reasons one would expect. As a kid, it was close to the top, but it wasn’t my favorite. It actually became my favorite holiday after I got married.

I love the chill in the air, the dramatic colors of the leaves. I love the costumes, even if I don’t get dressed up myself. I like how creative people sometimes get with their costumes. I love the food–in my house we do mulled cider and hot cocoa, “holiday scones” (my daughter’s term) and, if my son plays his cards right, chicken wings.

I love kitschy Halloween, the changing seasons, and even the vaguely sinister feel in the air. (I don’t like it too scary, and the boy doesn’t like it scary at all, so we play it pretty safe)

But what solidified Halloween’s place in my heart as my favorite holiday? It was one of those rare exceptions where I didn’t have to worry about upsetting anyone.

There were no fights over where we would be for Halloween night, or whose house we would go to the following morning. It was one of those days where we could just do whatever we wanted and be with whomever we wanted. It was a holiday that was about M and me and no one else.

This year, we have a couple of packed weekends. Tomorrow is trick-or-treating with the kids. Friday, we’re all going to a party at a friend’s house. The following day, we’re going to an event thing, where I’m pretty certain I’m supposed to get dressed up all fancy, and I don’t have a dress. It’s a 20’s theme, but I’m really hoping I can get away with just dressed up.

Looks like I’m going shopping on Saturday.

This after attending three parties last weekend. It’s actually quite a lot for an introvert like me. 🙂

Halloween…it’s a wonder I get any writing done at all this time of year!

Leave a Reply

