Romance Weekly–Characters!


image001Look out! It’s time for another blog post for Romance Weekly, where we answer questions posed by other writers and then link to one another. Follow the loop all the way around to meet some new-to-you authors! Today I’m linking to Dani Jace!

1. Do you have a favourite character from any of your books?

I suppose that my characters and my books are supposed to be like children, and you’re not supposed to have a favorite. Actually, I think my books are like my children–my favorite changes from day to day. Just like on some days, tiny daughter is my favorite kid and other days, my squirrelly son is the favorite. I guess it depends on who last barfed on my bed (they’re like cats, those two).

Right now, I’m sort of between favorites. Overall, I suppose I still am rather partial to Luke Bradshaw, my hero in Jessie’s War. Gah, I loved him so much it was crazy. He and Jessie made me cry.

But I just got finished with edits on Highland Deception, and I forget sometimes how much I love Kenneth (I suppose I’m partial to my guys). Kenneth is at the kind of guy you want to have around: strong, controlled, capable. Quiet and contemplative, but not in a Mr. Darcy kind of way. He was nicer than that. Less broody, too, I suppose, despite his predicament.

I guess I’m not into the hotheaded, impetuous alpha male. I like my heroes more thoughtful. I don’t want–and never did–the guy who will get so angry he’ll punch a wall. I want the guy who–even if he’s super angry and wants to punch a wall–can control himself.

2. If you were him/her what would you have done differently in their situation?

I’m not sure. If I were Luke, I’d tell Jessie that I was sorry at the start. I would have told her that I had always loved her, and then hoped she could forgive me. You know, instead of being obstinate about it. I don’t really blame him for how he chose to handle it, but Jessie sure would have been a lot more receptive if he’d just been open about things.

If I were Kenneth? I’m not sure. His situation was messed up from the start. He tried to make things right from the very beginning. He tried to do his duty to his clan and to Isobel, even though things were difficult between them from the first moment they laid eyes on one another. It wasn’t his fault, and it wasn’t hers, either. But it was difficult between them for a very long time.

3. Do you believe in the traditional HEA or do you think sometimes characters don’t need (or maybe deserve) them?

I write traditional HEAs. While I often read books that don’t have a traditional HEA, I guess I fall so in love with my characters that I think they deserve them.

Some people write very, very flawed characters. I had a friend who wrote a story where I wasn’t sure the hero deserved his happy ending. I couldn’t see past his predicament, I guess. I would have been content with that story if he hadn’t gotten his HEA.

My characters are flawed, but not fatally. I don’t write philanderers or disloyal characters. My characters have good hearts, even if they’re flawed on the outside. Every one of my characters is redeemable, so I can forgive them their flaws and want them to have the happy ending that everyone (okay, most people) deserves.

Thanks for the questions. Why don’t you go check out what Dani Jace has to say on the subject?

Leave a Reply

