Romance Weekly


This week’s questions are mine! Here they are…

Do you have a recurring theme in your work, either intentional or unintentional? What is it and why do you think you chose thatparticular theme?

I asked this question because I’ve found a recurrent theme in my stories, though it wasn’t until I’d finished three stories that I discovered it.

I find that all my characters are searching for redemption, whether they know it or not. Nicholas Wetherby in The Marker needed to be saved from himself after the death of his brother. Cameron MacKay in Highland Sons was tortured by guilt after the Civil War. Luke Bradshaw tried for years to overcome his past. And Kenneth MacKay, in Highland Deception? Well, he’s looking for redemption, too.

I suppose I chose this theme because everyone is looking for something. Maybe we’re all looking for that something we can believe in. Something that will guide us through dark times, something to save us.

Or, maybe I just like it. 🙂

Do you carefully plot your stories, or do you plot as you write? Why do you think this particular ethos works for you?

I’m a plot as I write kind of girl. I loosely plot my stories, but I allow them to take on lives of their own. I know where I need to get to, but how I get there….well, that’s up to the character.

This works for me because I like to be surprised. I am driven to write because I need to know what happens…and I’ll admit, once I know what happens, when the story is told in my head, I’m less driven to write. So I write to find out what happens next. 🙂

Is there a particular genre (within romance) you could never write? Why?

I think I’d have a hard time with inspirational. I like my stories a little gritty, and my stories tend to develop organically as I go, so the rules around inspirational might be hard for me. If I ever did write something approaching an inspirational, it would probably be an accident! I’ve read some beautiful inspirational, but others do it better, so I’ll leave them to it.

Check out what Amy Vastine has to say on the subject! Follow the blog all the way around, and discover other, new to you writers!

7 thoughts on “Romance Weekly”

  1. Interesting to find a threat in your books like that. Never thought about it in our series The Turning Stone Chronicles but maybe that’s because it is romance with a bit of paranormal.

Leave a Reply

