TaBiMB Welcomes Brooke Moss!


Brooke has generously agreed to give away a free copy of The Art of Being Indifferent to the first three commenters on this blog. So comment away!!!

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

“I write because if I don’t…my head will explode, and ruin the drapes.” ♥

Brooke writes complex, character-driven stories about kismet, reunited lovers, first love, and the kind of romance that we should all have the chance at finding. She prefers her stories laced with some humor just for fun, and enough drama to keep her readers flipping the pages, and begging for more.

When Brooke isn’t spinning tales, she spends her time drawing/cartooning, reading, watching movies then comparing them to books, wrangling five kids, mugging on one hubby she lovingly refers to as her “nerd”, and attempting to conquer the Mount Everest of laundry that is the bane of her existence.

Brooke is also an avid Autism Awareness advocate, and a passionate foster/adoptive mother, who loves to share her experiences with anyone who will listen.

Find Brooke elsewhere on the web at http://www.brookemoss.com

What is the most romantic thing your significant other or anyone has done for you?

You mean, besides put the kids to bed without asking or acting to dumb to do it himself? Okay, then. Actually, my handsome nerd is very romantic, just in a way that most people don’t understand. He gets me things, generally whatever I want, I get. Granted, we’re not talking about diamonds and Rolexes, but if I want to go somewhere with our family, he tries really hard to make it happen. If I want to see a movie, he suffers through it. If I want to order some new jeans online, he sneaks away and orders them for me. He’s very accommodating, so long as it is within financial reason, and this is very romantic to me. His desire to make me happy, makes me feel very loved.

Do you ever write in your PJs?

Does a duck quack? Yes. In fact, when I don’t have to go to the day job (subbing as a special ed aide or a recess supervisor at my children’s school district) I don’t even bother wearing anything else. I can make it even more awkward by admitting that I am losing my hair…which means I wear wigs on most days. And when I am at home writing in my PJ’s, I am usually wig-free….how’s that for sexy?

If you could be any cartoon character, who would you be, and why?

Hands down: Daisy Duck. She’s sophisticated, attractive (for a duck,) and well spoken. Plus, she’s just b*tchy enough to get stuff done. I like to think my own b*tchiness gets stuff done, too. But that remains to be seen.

Is it me, or have I talked a lot about ducks today?

Coffee or tea?

Hand me a cuppa vanilla Rooibos tea with milk and organic honey, and I will purr like a horny kitten. True story.

Vanilla or chocolate ice cream?

Neither. Tillamook huckleberry ice cream with chocolate sauce. Try it. It will change your life.

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?

Usually in my office, which I share with our dog, who is LARGE (Golden retriever & great pyranees mix) and unbearably fluffy. That dog sheds like God himself is coming tomorrow, and I spend most of my day vacuuming it all back up.

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you?

Bear Gryllis, because he can survive ANYWHERE; Bobby Flay because he can cook ANYTHING; and Gerard Butler….well, just because.

An actor you have a crush on?

Too many to list! I could never narrow it down. My current top five are: Gerard Butler, Robert Downy, Jr; Lee Pace; Tom Hiddleston; and Joseph Gordon Levitt…even though I am entirely too old for him, and used to watch him on shows & movies when he was still a child actor.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?

I am currently addicted to The Little Couple, and fervently watching while biting my nails, praying the TLC curse doesn’t strike their marriage. They’re just too wonderful to be on a reality TV show. I’m hoping they quit soon, only because TLC is like the black hammer to marriages. Oh, I’m also addicted to Wahlburgers. Probably because I was a blockhead as a tween & teen, and then I went to a few NKOTB concerts as an adult (don’t judge me!) and anytime I can see Donnie and Mark Wahlberg on the television, I’m going to sit down and focus—I mean, really focus. Because, hey…they’re the Wahlbergs.

Now comes the ones about your writing:

What made you decide to be an author?

You know, I’m not even sure! I’ve just always wanted to write books. When I was a kid, I just knew it was what I wanted to do—amongst becoming a ballerina and mother of twelve—so when I hit 30, I decided it was time to stop putting off my dream. The rest is history. J

How did you choose the genre you write in?

They say to write what you read. And while I read lots of genres (even westerns and highlander books, thanks to YOU, Meggan) my top genres will always be contemporary romance and YA. Plus, I feel like my voice caters to a contemporary vibe. So I go with what I’m good at…

Is there a particular author who may have influenced you?

Kristan Higgins, Liza Palmer, Jane Porter…they’re all amazing women who had writing dreams of their own. They chased that dream, made it a reality, and now they’re all successful at what they do. I think that out of the three of them, I really fan girl the most with Liza Palmer. Her books are seriously life changing. Too bad they only come out once every two years, or something like that…le sigh.

What is your all time favorite book?

Silas Marner, by George Eliot.

What is your favorite sentence or quote in your new release?

It’s the last darn section of The Art of Being Indifferent, but I love it. Here goes: I passed Drew and he beamed up at me, winking. Deep inside of my chest, my heart skittered. My life was pretty damn close to perfect these days. And to think, I used to believe that I had to keep my past a secret from people if I wanted them to love me. Especially someone as amazing as Drew.
I guess it took me a while to realize that you can’t hide what’s on the inside from the one person who actually knows you.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Life. Wherever life takes me, or takes a friend. Whatever bumps pop up in my road, or the road of a friend. It usually sprouts a story in my mind. I think my friends are afraid to share their life experiences with me now. They all know I’ll cram it into a book!

How did you choose your title?

My friend, Jess McCallan, picked it. We seem to pick better titles for each others books, than our own. Go figure.

What sacred advice have you been given by another writer?

Kristan Higgins told me once never to discuss religion or politics on social media, as it might ostracize readers. She was right, of course. And I’ve only broken that rule a few times. I swear I couldn’t help myself…

Where can your readers stalk you?

My website is http://www.brookemoss.com!

Tell us about your new release:

Posey’s not the kind of girl who has a lot of friends. After bouncing from foster home to foster home she’s only formed an attachment to her iPod, and the music that takes her away from the ugliness that surrounds her.

Drew Baxter’s got life on a string, or so everyone thinks. Son of the town mayor, swim team champion, and the hottest guy on campus. Little does everyone know that life at Drew’s home is dark, dangerous, and only getting worse.

When partnered together in a tutoring assignment from hell, Posey and Drew are surprised to find how much they have in common. Despite their need to keep what’s going on under the surface a secret from the world, it becomes clear they know each other better than anyone else in the world can. Now Posey and Drew have to find a way to exist in a town that wants to keep them apart, and in a circle of classmates that wants them to stop blurring the social lines.

Above all, Drew and Posey need to escape the madness of their abusive parents, before they drag them down forever.

Check out The Art of Being Indifferent on Amazon!

6 thoughts on “TaBiMB Welcomes Brooke Moss!”

  1. Brook is an incredibly talented writer, and I might add a fabulous person! Her books are witty, humorous and her characters are so very relatable. Great interview!

  2. Hello Ms. Moss, greetings from The Philippines. Is the free copy of this book still available? I’ve only read the free 20% of it online and i can’t seem to find this book here in my local bookstore. THANK YOU

    from Your Desperate Reader,
    TINA

Leave a Reply

