Please Welcome Sarah Hegger to The Bodice


Hey everyone, let’s show Sarah some love. And check out her cover! Isn’t it pretty?

TheBrideGift_850HIGH-2

Hi Meggan, and thanks so much for having me over today.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?

This is the official version, and Kim Handysides put it together for me. I think it covers most of the bases.

Born British and raised in South Africa, Sarah Hegger suffers from an incurable case of wanderlust. Her match? A hot Canadian engineer, whose marriage proposal she accepted six short weeks after they first met. Together they’ve made homes in seven different cities across three different continents (and back again once or twice). If only it made her multilingual, but the best she can manage is idiosyncratic English, fluent Afrikaans, conversant Russian, pigeon Portuguese, even worse Zulu and enough French to get herself into trouble.

Mimicking her globe trotting adventures, Sarah’s career path began as a gainfully employed actress, drifted into public relations, settled a moment in advertising, and eventually took root in the fertile soil of her first love, writing. She also moonlights as a wife and mother.

She currently lives in Draper, Utah, with her teenage daughters, two Golden Retrievers and aforementioned husband. Part footloose buccaneer, part quixotic observer of life, Sarah’s restless heart is most content when reading or writing books.

 

I would just add that I’m a total romantic and a bit of a dreamer.

 

What is the most romantic thing your significant other or anyone has done for you?

 

I have a totally unromantic husband. When we were first engaged, however, he sent me roses once a month. As many as there were months left before we got married. He ended with a bottle of champagne and two glasses. I should add that he makes up for not being romantic by bringing me a Latte in bed every morning (he makes the best coffee, anywhere) and makes me hot chocolate before bed.

 

Do you ever write in your PJs?

I have my mother’s voice inside my head that won’t let me. So, no, but I don’t make it out of yoga pants most day. I can’t write when I can’t get comfy.
If you could be any cartoon character, who would you be, and why?

I want to be Jessica Rabbit, because she has all those dangerous curves and she’s not afraid to use them.

Untitled1

 

Coffee or tea?

Coffee in the morning and tea for the rest of the day.

 

Vanilla or chocolate ice cream?

Vanilla and I feel boring just admitting that. Can I add Strawberry Haaden Dazs to that list?

 

Where and when do you prefer to do your writing?

At long last, I have a writing cave. My very own space filled with all my favorite things, and best of all a door!

Untitled2

 

If you were deserted on an island, who are 3 famous people you would want with you?

Oscar Wilde

Emma Thompson

Robert Downey Junior

 

An actor you have a crush on?

I’m so fickle this changes, but I have a crush on Travis Fimmel at the moment. It’s those eyes (and the other yummy bits)

Untitled3

Ah yes, Ragnar. I have a thing for Ragnar. And Rollo, too.

What is a movie or TV show that you watched recently and really enjoyed?

They’ve both ended, so I’m looking for a new favorite, but I loved Vikings and Black Sails.

Now comes the ones about your writing.

What made you decide to be an author?

I don’t think it was ever a conscious decision, more a process of always writing in some form or other. On my fortieth birthday, I met my critique partner Kim Handysides and we made a pact to get writing seriously and get published. We have spurred each other on since then.

How did you choose the genre you write in?

I started off writing Regency, but really didn’t do it well. Instead of being witty and light, it came out contrived and stilted. I have always been fascinated by the middle ages – bad, gritty, primal times – and ended up there. My debut novel, The Bride Gift was just released on Amazon and I have another medieval, Sweet Bea, releasing on September the 1st this year.

I also write contemporary and once day just wanted to test that limit. And I did. I have three contemporaries releasing next year with Kensington Publishing.

I always say I have the attention span of a goldfish, once around the bowl and I’m done. So, I need to switch up those genres.

Are you a pantser or a plotter and why?

Total plotter all the way. I need to have it all mapped out before I even type “Chapter One”

Is there a particular author who may have influenced you?

I have read and reread all the Dragon’s of Pern books by Ann McCaffrey and also the romances of Georgette Heyer.

Hey, me too!

How much trouble did your characters give you while writing your new release?

Helena was a bit of feisty, willful wench and wasn’t happy with the ending I had planned for her. She got her way in the end. Guy doesn’t speak, so it challenged me to come up with other ways to get his point across.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Everywhere – books, song lyrics, snippets of real life, movies … Something will spark that magical what if and I build it from there.

How did you choose your title?

On this release, I have to confess that I didn’t. Fellow writer, Leslie Hachtel, actually came up with it. I either have the title right from the start or I struggle to come up with something that fits after the book is written.

How do you cure writer’s block?

Touch wood, I haven’t had it. As a totally committed plotter, I have a daily word count that I must hit. So, it’s butt in chair and hands on keyboard until I hit that target. Some days I strike gold and others, I strike out, but those words get onto the paper.

That’s awesome. I find I struggle with writer’s block the busier I get. SInce right now I’m so busy I can barely see, my writing has slowed. Lucky girl!!

Do you have any advice for an aspiring writer?

Keep writing and don’t give up. Rejection is part of the process and write your way through it.

What sacred advice have you been given by another writer?

The same as I now hand out to other writers.

Where can your readers stalk you?

Hearing from readers is one of my favorite things. We work in such isolation as writers it’s fantastic to get a shout out from the place our words end up, with the reader.

 

Website

Facebook

Twitter

 

Tell us about your new release:

The Bride Gift is available on Amazon and this is what it’s all about.

It’s 1153 in the period dubbed ‘The Anarchy’, King Stephen and Empress Maud are not the only ones embroiled in a fierce battle of the sexes.

 Determined to control her own destiny, willful Helena of Lystanwold has chosen just the husband to suit her purposes. But, when her banished guardian uncle attempts to secure her future and climbs through her bedroom window with a new husband by a proxy marriage, she understandably balks. Notorious warrior Guy of Helston is everything Helena swore she would never marry; a man who lives by the sword, like the man who murdered her sister.

This marriage finally brings Guy close to his lifetime dream of gaining lands and a title. He is not about to let his feisty bride stand in his way. A master strategist, Guy sets out to woo and conquer his lady.

Against a backdrop of vengeance, war and betrayal, Guy and Helena must learn to forge a united front or risk losing everything.

 

Here’s a little taste of The Bride Gift:

 

The men had practiced in the yards since early morning. Now, they streamed into the hall, filthy, sweat stained, and bellowing for food. Helena stiffened her spine. They would not treat her hall as if it were a rough camp.

“Sir Guy,” her voice rang across the expanse.

His face was streaked with perspiration, his tunic hanging haphazardly from one meaty shoulder. His bare chest gleamed from his exertions.

The butterflies were back inside her and flinging themselves about. Helena tightened her resolve. This wouldn’t do.

She swept from the dais toward them. Around Guy, his men went silent and fell away.

They would not come to her table filthy and stinking of sweat. This was her keep.

“The meal will wait until you have had time to prepare yourselves.” She spoke to their leader, but let her glance drift over the rowdy lot.

Their eyes slid shamefaced to the floor. They looked like a collection of overgrown, rebuked boys.

A small smile tugged at her mouth. She suppressed it harshly.

“Hah?” Sir Guy grunted at her.

Helena gritted her teeth. The man was able to speak. She’d seen as much around his men, but for her he could do nothing more than, ‘hah?’

“Tell me, Sir Guy,” she lisped sweetly, “was that ‘Aye, my lady’ or ‘Nay, my lady’ or, mayhap, it was aught else entirely?”

Guy went absolutely still before her. One corner of his mouth turned up slightly. Helena’s pulse fluttered against the side of her neck in reaction.

She couldn’t read the expression turning his eyes near silver, but her pulse kicked rapidly in response.

He lunged toward her, deadly swift. She squealed as his hands closed on her hips and lifted her into the air, as if she weighed no more than thistledown. Good Lord, he is strong. A small thrill chased through her innards. Her hands clung to his forearms convulsively. The feel of his skin beneath her hands was hot as the sensation of touching him swept up her arms.

“As you will, my lady,” he rumbled.

Around them, the hall broke into raucous yells and whistles. Helena’s face flamed with heat.

He lowered her closer, his mouth hard and swift on hers before he placed her back to the floor. His men cheered and stamped their feet.

Helena’s lips tingled where he’d touched them. She raised her fingertips to her mouth. Then jerked her hand away, irked by her own reaction and unable to still her pounding heart.

“Will you attend me as I bathe?” he drawled, smooth as silk.

She tried to regain her composure, but her blood rushed through her ears and her knees knocked together beneath her bliaut. She raised her chin.

“Geoffrey will attend you.” She wouldn’t let him see how he had completely overset her.

Guy merely grinned at her, a great, unabashed beam of nonsense that prodded at her to respond.

She turned her shoulder on him instead. “The rest of you may wash in the barracks,” she groused at the grinning bunch of louts. “Merry will bring cloths.”

They turned as one and stormed for the screens.

Helena wished she could follow them. Guy’s kiss, his touch still lingered. But the hall was looking to her. She put a bright smile on her face. She would act as if naught had happened.

Sarah Hegger B&W

Thanks for being here, Sarah! The book is great (I just started it)… so best of luck and here’s to many sales!

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Please Welcome Sarah Hegger to The Bodice”

  1. Great interview! 🙂 I think Jessica Rabbit was a good choice!

    Can’t wait to read this book, heard so much about it lately and every time it sounds even better!

  2. Love the “official” answer. Very entertaining. Also, a very interesting cartoon character. 🙂 With so many books coming out it must be that door on your writing cave that helped get them all done. LOL Best of luck with The Bide Gift.

  3. Great interview! I’m where you were a few weeks ago…wanting to writing something new, but editing takes priority. Awesome that you have numerous releases in the coming year!

Leave a Reply

