Romance Weekly: Books!


image001

Welcome back to the questions of Romance Weekly. This week’s questions are from Fiona Riplee. If you’re here, hopefully you came from LaNora Mangano. Let’s get down to it, shall we?

1. Does humor help or hinder you in your creative process?

Uh, I don’t know. I like a little bit of humor in my books; I don’t think that a story can survive without humor. Mostly, I think that’s because I don’t think I would be very happy in world without silliness and humor. I can be pretty intense, and I have a pretty intense job; without humor, I would be lost.

I like to think the same holds true for my characters. I’m not a slapsticky writer, but my characters will sometimes say things simply to make others laugh.

2.What is a favorite go-to book or movie you use to unblock a problem in your writing?

I don’t go to books to unlock a problem with my writing; actually, being honest, the idea had never occurred to me. But I have a whole list of books and movies that I love, or that inspire me.

The Last of the Mohicans, the movie with Daniel Day-Lewis. When Hawkeye says “Stay alive, no matter what occurs. I will find you,” I melt. A part of me wants someone to say that to me, but then, I’d have to be in a life-threatening situation, and I hope my life doesn’t get any more exciting than it is (and it’s really not, but it’s good in a suburban kind of way).

A Tale of Two Cities and The Count of Monte Cristo. My best friend from high school still doesn’t understand my affection for these books, even after all these years. But gads, I loved them.

Firefly. The dialogue was snappy, there was a whole back story that was just hinted at, and it gave Captain Mal an almost Healthcliff-like broodiness. Also, space cowboys. One can never go wrong with space cowboys. I’ll watch it again and again.

Speaking of Heathcliff, there’s Wuthering Heights  and Jane Eyre. I do like my brooding heroes.

None of these shows or books unlocks a problem with my writing, but they all bring me inspiration in their own ways.

**Addendum** I just re-read this–after having it up for a bit–and it sounded so…I don’t know. Conceited, maybe? I mean, I read books/blogs on writing, too. There have been times when I have been reading happily along and thought, “Oh no, I do that,” and then gone through my draft and (I hope) fixed it. So I suppose those books/blogs do unlock problems in my writing. I just haven’t gone to a book to help me unlock problems, because it never occurred to me. It probably should have, but it didn’t. :)**

3.What’s the most inspiring book you’ve read this week or month that’s generated a new idea?

I haven’t really had any new ideas lately. I’ve been reading a nonfiction book about the clans of Scotland and another about medieval England, and somewhere in there I’ve been reading Smart but Scattered, which might have been written about my son.

I’ve also been in the throes of writer’s block for the last two weeks or so. I’m writing some stuff, but I’ve erased most of it. It’s not clicking now. That just tells me I need a little break from this story right now. So I’ve been toying a bit with a story about a woman who meets an alien in Starbucks.

That’s it for me. Why don’t you go see what Victoria Barbour has to say! I know I will.

6 thoughts on “Romance Weekly: Books!”

  1. Meggan, I adore your honesty. That’s what I love in a writer. Even if they create fictional worlds, you can hear honesty in a writer’s voice. Great post!

    BTW, I am totally with you on British brooding heroes. 😉

Leave a Reply

