News and Notes


So this week has been about taking the kids to the park, or swimming, or teaching the kids how to ride bikes. Next week, I’m going on vacation, so that should be exciting. Twelve days of camping. That’s a lot of togetherness. A LOT OF TOGETHERNESS.

No, I’m not totally petrified. Why do you ask?

I should have some good pictures of Edinor the Tyrannosaur as she camps her way through the wilds of the West. (We are going to some places I’ve never been in my life, so I’m excited about that)

I recently finished up Highland Deception, and have sent it off to beta readers to go over before I send it off to the publisher. It’s the story of a rogue and a thief who, upon the death of his brother, assumes the position of laird of the Clan Mackay… and the wife his brother didn’t want. I’m excited to share it with you when the time comes.

But, in the mean time, I got blind-sided by a story. It’s been cooking for a couple of years, now, and I’ve been intending to write it, but I thought I’d go with another steampunk, or my crazy “Scottish vampire duke who invents things goes to the old west and has a lot of sex” book. It was my mash-up of every genre I could think of, just to see if I could do it. Steampunk meets highlanders in the Old West meets a Regency-style hero meets vampires and sex. But then this story, which is a complete departure from anything else I have published, sprang back to life.

We’ll see how it goes, but for right now, I’m excited about it. It’s been a while since a story has grabbed me by the lapels and demanded, “Write me!” I love it when a story gets bossy, when the characters fill your head until you can’t sleep at night. Jessie’s War did that for me almost two years ago now. Succubus is doing it for me now.

Yeah, not a steampunk, not a western. Not even an historical. No, this story is an urban fantasy.

But it’s funny, because in my original conception of the story, I totally saw it from Zeke’s point of view. The story, as it’s coming to me now, is from Adara’s. It’s pretty great.

In any case, today I had an interview for Jessie’s War here, so if you want to catch up with me, pop on over. Come see why these are some of my favorite characters that I’ve ever written.

–M

6 thoughts on “News and Notes”

    1. It’s pretty fun. I’m loving Succubus right now, but I have a couple of Scottish steampunks–with vampires–floating around in my head!

      But every time I bring up Scottish vampire duke goes to the old west, I do get a chorus of “Yes, please!” It might be a sign!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  1. But Meggan, you have to write the Scottish Vampire, Steampunk Duke story!!

    And yes, it’s a sign, silly girl! Succubus sounds rocking too.Sign me up.

    p.s. Thanks for the lovely reviews of Mystic Storm!!

      1. You don’t know how relieved I am hear you say that! I had such a tough time getting the book done. Zephyr was pissed about the whole girl thing and he fought me tooth and nail!

  2. The following steampunk new releases were compiled for HEA by Deborah O’Neill Cordes , co-author of The Other Side of Heaven and the Roman Time travel series.

Leave a Reply

